top of page

The Rose Parade


I filed complaint after complaint after complaint with the managers of the Rose Parade in Pasadena, California, begging them to stop inviting the Budweiser Clydes to march in the parade. I pointed out to them, that, lawmakers who worked very hard got a law passed there banning tail docking and here the parade was inviting the worse offenders of doing this to march down mainstreet.

I finally received a phone call from someone who flat out lied to me and said that "No, absolutely not. Those horses do not have docked tails."

That was a shock to hear of course, so I went back to filing complaint after complaint until I got a phone call from the Tournament of Rose's Senior Director of Marketing and Communications, Heidi Hoff. Ms. Hoff was actually a delight to speak with. She apologized for the lie told to me, and then, asked me whatever information I had about the Budweiser Clydes and tail docking.

I immediately sent everything over to her, hoping that all of these months of work trying to get them to stop allowing these mutilated horses into their parade was going to yield some results. Ms. Hoff even gave me the name and phone number of her contact at Budweiser.

Sigh...all of this turned into another frustrating dead end. I called the contact at Budweiser, a woman named Sue Marler, who told me she only booked them into events, but that she would pass my concerns along. Yes...of course you will...SIGH!

Of course, Heidi Hoff and The Tournament of Roses, in the end, chose to continue to invite the Budweiser Clydes to New Year's Day parade because they had been invited for so many years.

Seriously, how lame can you get!? That is the exact same argument the people who mutilate the genitals of those little girl's in the Middle East keep saying...they had done it for years, it had become tradition, they were not going to stop.

Shame on the Rose Parade, for turning a blind eye to horses that had needlessly been mutilated.

I provided a link from the event, and, you can clearly see the horses moving their tiny, tiny, useless tails...so, if you were wondering what you were seeing was true in a photograph, this video should hopefully provide you with all of the evidence you need that their tails were amputated.


The goals!

#1 

Write laws in states that do not ban docking.

 

#2

Review existing laws to make sure they are comprehensive enough.

 

#3

Demand that people who break these laws are given the largest, strongest punishments allowable.

bottom of page